Mirror Mirror on the Wall, it’s Not so Crazy After All!

I don’t know, really, but I’ve developed this habit of talking to the mirror over time. I guess, it started from my college days when I practised my oratory skills while looking at the mirror – and eventually grew from there. Now I regularly talk to the mirror, acting out different personas of my psyche, using it as a way to clear up my mind and find out what I actually want to do.

I am worthwhile

I am worthwhile

The fact that this is helpful does not mask my concern that this may or may not be normal or a healthy thing to do. And a few days ago, when I visited my physician, waiting at the reception for my turn to come, I chanced upon an article in one of those worn out medical journals. It turned out be pretty interesting though.

I came to know – I am not alone… there are so many of us… rather a majority!!!

The author of the article, who’s a physician, says that in the privacy of our minds, we all talk to ourselves — “an inner monologue that might seem rather pointless,” to quote him exactly, but also shows with the help of scientific research that the act of giving ourselves mental messages can help us learn and perform at our best. In other words, talking to yourself may actually help your brain focus on the task at hand and augment thinking!

He explains that self-talk isn’t just motivational messages like “You can do it!” or “You are almost there,” although this internal cheering can also be a confidence booster. But there’s more to it. Another kind of mental message that is even more useful, called “instructional self-talk.” This is the kind of running commentary we engage in when we’re carrying out a difficult task, especially one that’s unfamiliar to us. I could relate to this one… as in my case, when I practise my karate moves, I often instruct myself on the step-by-step moves for katas, kicks, punches, stretching and self-defense. It works wonder!

At a recent happiness workshop I attended, my teacher said, “Look in the mirror – and tell yourself everyday, “I am the most beautiful person on earth… that I am so happy that the divine has put in much of effort to make a wonderful creature like me… and I can never let him/her down…” and saying so just throw a kiss in the air.

“But just be careful,” she quipped, “See that the mirror doesn’t start talking back to you!”

“You mean a talking mirror! I said, excited, like the one in Harry Potter or Snow White!” I said promptly, And, well, I don’t rule out such possibilities as well.

On a serious note, (thanks to the trigger I got at the happiness workshop) what I do each day, as part of my morning / nightly routine – and anyone interested can try out this one – develop a habit of looking at yourself in the mirror, repeating the following self-affirming statements –

  • I accept and love myself
  • I deserve to take care of myself, I do take care of myself
  • It is okay to love and accept myself
  • I am worthwhile
  • I am valuable
  • I do the best I can with my current awareness
  • I am courageous and accept responsibility for my thoughts, actions and feelings
  • I own my strengths
  • I am capable of learning
  • I can grow and increase my awareness, skills and strengths
  • I accept where I am now and enjoy the process of achieving my outcomes

As you create and repeat your magical script, look at yourself – on your eyes, deeply, as you say these heartfelt statements and try to feel its power in your mind, heart and gut.

Believe me, it works!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Eswara H S on April 12, 2014 at 2:14 pm

      My dear Sohini,   I am reminded of a French Psychologist Emile Coue. He proposed a method of autosuggestion came to be called Coueism. It’s some kind of a placebo effect. His mantra was, “Everyday, in every way, I’m getting better and better.” It is believed that this mantra works.   With best wishes, Affectionately, HS Eswara

    ________________________________

    Reply

    • Posted by Sohini Bagchi on April 15, 2014 at 6:30 pm

      Thank you Sir, It’s wonderful to learn about Coueism. This mantra is very effective as it enables us to think positive I guess.

      Reply

  2. Great way to start loving one’s self. I can see how this boosts confidence.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

