The way we were

This relationship has been on the rocks for awhile now, though neither Nikhil or I would tell anyone else that we have been fighting, we had always been that perfect couple. This was until recently, Nikhil started to get jealous of me as I was laughing and talking with his best friend, Tanmay and other friends, playing the perfect hostess. It all started at Nikhil’s 25th birthday party. I had taken a picture with Tanmay, and I guess we looked cool together (It was only a casual friendly demeanor), causing Nikhil to get jealous. That night he tried to force himself on me, as if he was claiming me. I hated his attitude, pushed myself angrily and walked away.

It wouldn't be the same anymore

It wouldn’t be the same anymore

Since that night, we haven’t been the same..

Tonight, Nikhil was sitting on the couch, avoiding conversation as he stared at the TV screen. I huffed and brought in the bowl of popcorn, putting it on the table next to him. A few moments later, he turned his attention to me.

“Sonali?” He whispered my name, which made me stop to look at him, biting lightly on my bottom lip before I got the courage to respond.

“This isn’t’ working.” The words hit me harder than I thought they would, I knew they were coming but I still wasn’t prepared for my college sweetheart to break my heart. I was hoping we’d get addicted to this awkwardness. but it’s been six months and we still weren’t on the best terms.

“I know, Nikhil.” I sighed softly, trying to keep myself from completely breaking down in front of him. I put my face in my hands and rub my eyes.

Suddenly, I heard him get up from the couch. The sound got my attention and I looked up at him, shaking my head quickly. “Nikhil, please don’t go. Stay the night. Our last night together, we don’t have to do anything… but just stay.” My voice was pleading with tears welling. Nikhil nodded and came over to me. He grabbed my hand to help me up.

He leads me into the bedroom, tomorrow it would go back to being mine when he would decide to pack his belongings and go. He sat down on the bed and pulled me down with him. I sat next to him before I decided to get under the blankets up over me. Nikhil turned the lamp off before he got under the covers with me. I smiled to myself at the warmth of Nikhil ‘s body next to mine.

I zoomed closer to him to get more of his heat, he loops his arm around my waist, letting me snuggle up to his chest. We both were quiet for awhile before he spoke again. “Sonali?” I tilted my head up to look up at him, biting my lower lip and shockingly, he leaned down and placed his lips to my bottom lip, he whispered out “You always do that, you have been doing that since I met you at nineteen.”

“When we were nineteen, god that feels like ages ago!” I whisper, smiling at the memories before speaking them out loud. “Remember that one time we went to the Golf Point on your bike and that’s when we figured out we will be happy together! Because the moon was shining bright and we kept stealing glances of each other.” My words came out soft and slow, taking my time to remember the details as best as I could. He just nodded.

“Good Bye”… the words seem to echo in the sultry air!

“Good Bye”… the two  words seem to echo in the sultry air!

The silence gave me more time to think all of all the memories behind us. It should have hurt, but I was smiling because it happened. Nikhil happened to me, I had never been luckier than the day he walked up to me and asked me if we could start living together. He had always been my best friend, my escape, my everything… Soon, we would depart and it wouldn’t be like that anymore.

I turned my head to look up at Nikhil, may be, one last time… I tried leaning in to kiss his cheek, my lips parting on his skin to speak softly. “Thank you, for the last few years, I’m sorry that this isn’t what you want anymore.”

“Good Bye”… the words seem to echo in the sultry air!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Gede Prama on April 11, 2014 at 6:28 pm

    I really like what you’re doing here. there seems to be a positive vibe! what to do as you do and show others how. Good luck! 🙂

    Reply

  2. I liked the way you carved a short write just with that tip of the iceberg. I am sure much more lies beneath.
    Nice read.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

