Remembering Meetu

Our snow white - Meetu

Our snow white princess – Meetu

Meetu darling,

Our Snow White princess…I know you are in a blessed land, a different world, where I heard there’s no end to joy and tranquility. Although you are gone and I can no longer feel your warmth, your tender and loving face; I still can picture your beauty in my mind.  Nothing can ever touch or remove my everlasting memories of my most worthy ‘pet sister.’

Seven years passed since you’ve left us.

In the days and weeks following your death, people told me “it will get easier with time.” Now, seven years later, I can say that yes, in some ways it has. Your death is no longer one of the first things I remind myself of when I wake up, nor is it the last thing I think about before I fall asleep; it no longer consumes me.

But, even then, I Miss You.  I still have days when it’s just as painful as it was seven years ago, and I still have moments when I silently cry. There are things, in particular, that trigger one of those moments forcing me to quite literally say hello to my sorrow – again and again.

But with time, I realised that we never lose the ones we love, even to death, literally. They continue to participate in every act, thought and decision we make. Their love leaves an indelible imprint in our memories. We find comfort in knowing that our lives have been enriched by having shared their love.

And so here’s a short poem by Mary Elizabeth Frye, which gives me some comfort…

 

meetu

I am the diamond glint of snow…

Don’t stand by my grave and weep,
For I am not there, I do not sleep.
I am a thousand winds that blow.
I am the diamond glint of snow.
I am the sunlight on ripened grain.
I am the gentle autumn’s rain.
When you awaken in the morning, hush.
For I am the swift uplifting rush
Of quiet birds in circle flight.
I am the soft stars that shine at night.
Do not stand by my grave and cry.
I am not there, I did not die.

Wait for me in Heaven… someday, when my work is done on this earth, I’ll join you there…

With love,

Your dearest ‘sis’.

Leave a Reply

