Decisions come in red, yellow and green!

“In the end that was the choice you made, and it doesn’t matter how hard it was to make it. It matters that you did.”
― Cassandra Clare, City of Glass

Nobody wants to make a wrong decision in life, really! But we end up doing so – faced with a situation, we try to make the best choice and despite our good intentions, we often regret those choices. I must confess I too have made a few so called bad choices, repented, and overcame what come may – and then realised its part of life.

There are no wrong or right choices

There are no wrong or right choices

Nevertheless, these thoughts don’t come to me often, but the other day, while waiting at a traffic signal for the lights to change from red to green, I envisioned the traffic lights as representations of the decisions we make in our lives.  Just like the three lights red, yellow and green that symbolise stop, caution and go, I wondered why can’t decision making also follow the same pattern?

If decision makers were traffic lights, then the red lights would be the ones frozen in fear when faced with making a decision. They would be resistant to change and have great difficulty in making decisions. Yellow lights decision makers would perhaps be caution oriented and weigh the pros and cons of any given situation before jumping into a conclusion. Green lights would be the risk takers, I believe. They would leap without looking, thinking that all is well, but at times do get themselves in sticky predicaments.

However, as human beings, we may not be typecast ourselves strictly as red light, yellow light or green light decision makers, for the simple reason that we do not know what future holds for us.

As much as I have struggled with making decisions in my life I am very happy that I have had so many choices offered to me. Yes, I’ve made some poor choices, but along with those choices came challenges and opportunities that I would not have experienced otherwise. For this reason I do not believe there are wrong or right choices. Whatever decisions we make, they will ultimately thrust us into life situations and the way we deal with it. As the opportunities being gifted to us unfold in our lives, we will grow our spirits and continue to live on!

Leave a Reply

