The power of written words

Writing, in many ways is like that of meditation

Writing, in many ways is like that of meditation

The other day while flipping through the pages of a book on Communication, I came across an interesting anecdote by an amateur writer that inspired me. She writes: “a writer is married to her solitude and solitude pays her an exceptional opportunity to witness the world. Rather than speaking how anything appears to her, the writer fetches that up on a piece of paper.”

I found the statement not only undeniable, but also a powerful one! Writing to me has always been my personal de-stress mantra and should remain that way. Very often I’ve come across circumstances when I don’t feel like talking to anyone, but prefer to pen down my thoughts. Believe me it works wonders.

No matter what I write, if I just sit with my notepad and pen, with the intention of writing, and something comes up, it’s spur-of-the-moment. These days, it’s no longer about the notepads and diaries I used to wait for throughout the year – the ones dad especially got for me during Christmas. These days I too get a plenty of them, but I use planners and diaries for other purposes now, not for scribing my memoirs. Technology has made things simpler. I’m so used to my laptop now that I just can’t do without it. All my thoughts are neatly woven and locked up inside my creative folders… And once you are done with it – recording your day’s thoughts or musings – it induces a sense of relaxation. Blogging is currently hot on trend and a favorite pastime for anyone who loves to write. I personally think that it has changed the writing landscape as writers can express more freely through this platform.

Writing, I believe, in many ways is similar to that of meditation. “Your breathing slows as you concentrate on or rather swept away by the words and then you slowly allow them to flow out of your head onto the keyboard or that piece of paper,” my professor told me once. It calms the mind into stillness and allows your deeper consciousness to reveal itself – that’s the power of written words.

If you’re a writer, or somebody in the making, you should meditate. Willpower and a sense of order apart, to produce words effortlessly, and come up with a good piece – if not a masterpiece – you need to know how to nurture abstraction and cultivate creative reality. For this, meditation could be the best tool in your pack. Think of words, talk to yourself, read, play mental word games… there are so many ways to rear your senses.

And most importantly, pen down or key in whatever you feel like if you have the love for the art. As famous writer Henry David Thoreau said, “Write while the heat is in you. The writer who postpones the recording of his thoughts uses an iron which has cooled to burn a hole with. He cannot inflame the minds of his audience.”

One response to this post.

  1. […] The power of written words. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

