A Chocolate Lover’s Dream Come True

Some of you must have heard the famous saying by British comedian Jo Brand: “Anything is good if it’s made of chocolate.” And she was so true! Like Brand, I can shamelessly confess I’m a chocoholic.

I have had a serious chocolate eating habit all my life and keep binging on dark, bittersweet chocolates – the darker the better. In college, I always had a couple of small bars in my jhola. I can never resist a chocolate dessert, and sometimes I use the ‘punch’ that chocolate gives me, to work late at night or late in the afternoon. Well, this evening was special as I  attended a local chocolate event: Choco Mania, which was held at the recreation club in our locality.

high on chocolate

high on chocolate

As one of the chief guests – being addressed as an eminent journalist – (though I’m not a food reviewer, have always been into technology journalism), I was asked to do the honour of cutting a chocolate cake and saying a few lines on chocolate – Why people have fun and are passionate about this commodity. I did justice to venerate my most cherished addiction so to say.

There were 10-12 stalls offering homemade chocolate products and one stall offering hot coffee with chocolates. In these stalls, you’ll find everything from chocolate biscuits to cakes, and chocolate mousse to chocolate cocktails. There was an assortment of flavoured chocolates such as raspberry, strawberry, orange and mint.

And there I was – with a group of crazy Samaritans, tasting different chocolates and discussing them, much later did I realise I was overdosing on chocolate. Well, most of them were delicious, and even though I had promised myself to only have a tiny taste of each, I started nibbling more and more of what came my way. It was kind of a funny event, instead of feeling like my chocolate was a guilty pleasure, I was expected to be serious and intelligent about it. Most of them were dark chocolate, which was all the more tempting for me.

When I finally left the event venue (with a box of free chocolate that was gifted to all special guests), I felt as though I had eaten more chocolates than ever before in my life. I swore to myself I didn’t want to see chocolates again, at least for the next couple of weeks and I’ll try to stick to this dictum (I should). But this evening was awesome! I felt almost drunk on chocolate. It was quite an event!!! A chocolate lover’s dream love true!

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by payel on July 26, 2012 at 11:24 am

    yummy man and congrats! where do u manage these invites from? Happy for you

    Reply

  2. Posted by Dinesh Bhattachaya on July 26, 2012 at 11:27 am

    Its good to see you are enjoying yourself. be happy in whatever you do and remember you deserve the best

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sumita on July 26, 2012 at 11:28 am

    Holla… enjoy baby. This is the right age for you.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Sonali on July 26, 2012 at 6:14 pm

    There was a time I loved chocolates so much that i was carrying it on my purse. with time, i lost the temptation. still like it… good piece by the way

    Reply

  5. Posted by Ravina on July 26, 2012 at 7:11 pm

    God! the description itself is so yummy that i want to eat all of it.

    Reply

  6. That’s the whole idea Ravs. Good you enjoyed reading the piece 🙂 truly inspires

    Reply

Leave a Reply

