The Change Agents

The other day as I was watching this Hollywood film “Forces of Nature”, I came across a wonderful saying by the film protagonist: “Sometimes the people we meet change us forever.” To be honest, I didn’t find the film anything extraordinary but this one dialogue in the film just made me think, leaving a certain feeling within me. I don’t know how many of you can relate to this piece, but I feel I need to share this bit with you all.

with every obstacle in my life came a blessing...

with every obstacle in my life came a blessing…

I believe there are some people who are destined to walk into our lives and they play a role in changing us. We do not know all of them since ages, it may be just a year, or even lesser say, a few months or days, or just a one time affair, but they manage to play a special role in our lives. Of course the ones that we know and develop longer relationships will eventually change us more. But those, whom we are destined to meet, not only change us, but also teach us a lot that we may or may not know about ourselves.

As I was growing up, I wanted to believe that every relationship or friendship should be like a fairytale. In the process I’d run into several obstacles and this is when I met Reality. However, with every obstacle in my life came a blessing, sometimes they are a Godsend. Some people I was destined to meet came to me like a redeemer – stood by me as a friend, philosopher and guide, and brought me from darkness to light. No matter who the person(s) is and no matter what the circumstances are, he or she did impact my life in some way.

A friend of mine, who’s also a philosopher of sort, was telling me the other day that life is too short to be wasted in petty things, so show gratitude to all the change agents in your life. It doesn’t cost anything, but makes living worthwhile. She told me thank each one for being a part of your life – whether you were destined to meet the person for a reason, a season or a lifetime.

Get deeper into this and what she said makes a whole lot of sense. And I am doing exactly that…

Some of you, who are reading this blog right now, actually deserve a special thanks and I guess they know who they are… so, thank you for being a part of my life. I would never, ever be the person I am today without you whether you are meant to come into my life for a reason, a season or a lifetime!

Leave a Reply

