Rediscovering Motherhood: Living With A purpose

Kush will turn four next month and that makes me a proud mom. I’ve just begun to celebrate motherhood. You may ask, why say “just begun” after nearly four years? Well, to put it correctly, I did experience the joy of motherhood when I held him for the first time in my arms and like all moms I too had that wonderful feeling when I gazed at his eyes. But I was lost somewhere for a while… juggling life in the single lane was not easy and just when I was thinking of giving up, I started rediscovering the joy of motherhood and let me tell you I’m enjoying every bit of it.

My little bundle of joy

My little bundle of joy

It’s a wonderful feeling to see little Kush grow up and changing fast – almost every day. Be it crawling, walking, running, babbling or even talking and many more – each of his developmental milestone has been a delight at home, a learning process, a rediscovery. Besides having his usual “play time”, “meal time”, and “school time”, all he demands now is “mummy’s time” and this keeps me very busy of late. Kush is one adorable kid (all kids are), who demands a lot of attention (make him the center of attention and he’s the happiest) as well as affection.

One thing I’ve learnt not to do with kush is to make him do something against his wish. Shouting, yelling and rude talks are a big no-no. Well, this is not akin to pampering. It’s all about going a little slow and steady with him says my mom  (this is one area where I certainly falter and now practicing Urdhva Hastasana (arms upward) yoga to modulate my speed. I’ve also observed that if you explain him anything with common sense and logic – he would love it because he looks for that exact truth in every answer and there’s no escape. And he can memorize each and every word that had been uttered even months ago.

I’ve started to like the colour pink by the way – his favourite colour and do not wish to change his preference (unless he falls prey to societal stereotypes). Oh yeah, and not to forget his astute musical fondness, love for cars and a penchant for creative art, which I’m set to nurture in the days to come.

It’s amazing how time flies. After crossing several bumpy roads and spiky lanes together, we now seem to have entered into the lush valley to experience a new phase of bonding and attachment. Each day amidst several challenges, I look forward to the evenings – when I can be with him. We report to each other and review how our day goes by in our own bizarre ways.

Every moment we spend together is precious, be it counting pebbles, making cola float, watching cartoons, reading books or taking a walk in the park or exploring just the basic joys of life. Kush in a way has helped me recognise my own importance and today, as he begins his new journey – the journey to his new school, I feel overwhelmed. May god bless him always and give me the courage to live with a purpose so that I can keep rediscovering motherhood through Kush’s eyes.

12 responses to this post.

  1. Beautiful post. I also try to limit the times I have to coerce my toddler to do anything. Usually I find other tactics to prod him along instead of just ordering him around.

    Reply

    • Posted by Soho on April 2, 2012 at 12:30 pm

      Oh that’s wonderful. Do let me know how you do it. BTW I like your blog too. Quite interesting 🙂

      Reply

  2. Posted by Sumauli Mukherjee on April 2, 2012 at 5:27 am

    loved reading it 🙂 keep on rocking mama.. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Renuka Jeedigunta(Kommera) on April 2, 2012 at 7:15 am

    Nice one Sohini…. I’m as relaxed as doing meditation… lovely article… i particularly like your “hobbies”… Have a great time Kush…
    By the way.. thought of sharing my daughter’s song with you

    Reply

  4. Posted by Krishna o dilip biswas. on April 2, 2012 at 9:03 am

    First word we say Maa… and it goes on forever…. . Who is this Maa ? What is her true nature?

    You have practiced and experienced. Wonderful write up. Live up and Live on..

    Sri Sri Govinder Aashirvad on you and my friend………Hari OM!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Renuka on April 2, 2012 at 12:17 pm

    Nice one Sohini…. I’m as relaxed as doing meditation… lovely article… i particularly like your “hobbies”… Have a great time Kush…

    Reply

  6. Posted by Rajat on April 2, 2012 at 6:33 pm

    Nice to read ur lines Sohini…my blessings for Kush and all the very best in his life as well as to u too…….let the bond of love between you two become more concrete and everlasting….my prayers.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Shantheri on April 2, 2012 at 6:40 pm

    lovely!!! Aptly sums up your thoughts….. muahhhhh love u and kushy baby:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

